lemon penne broccoli with mushrooms

I am not a cook.

I cook decently enough, though. I like what I make. And sometimes when I make things for others, they like it. But I’m not sure if it’s like of the recipe, or like of me so they just pretend they like it. Either way, I’m still only a true cook to one: myself.

I’m hesitant to put this on the blog, because I don’t know if anyone else is going to appreciate how good it was, but I figured why the hell not. I still consistently look back at my smoothie recipe that I have, so using this blog as a virtual recipe book of my eats seems fitting and beneficial to me. This is your warning. You can make the recipes all you want, you just might not like them. I’m cool with that.

I find the best recipes come in desperation. That moment when you are so hungry, and want food at that moment, but have nothing in the shelves to make what you normally do. You are also so tired that going out (no matter how close the grocery store is) just isn’t an option. This is what happened with this dish.

Lemon Penne Broccoli with Mushrooms (Serves 1)

Ingredients*:

  • 4 oz of Smart Balance Penne (I used this stuff because it’s lower in calories. Any penne, or any pasta shape will do, really)
  • 1 cup of broccoli
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms
  • ~ tbsp of lemon juice (I just took a cut section and squeezed. Not technical at all)
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • 1 heaping tbsp of nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp of Earth Balance margarine

*These are estimates. The beauty of this dish is to add as much of something or little of something you wish. The lemon juice is probably that only thing you’ll have to worry in terms of overdoing.

Directions:

Boil water and cook pasta. If you are like me, you had frozen broccoli so I just added that to my boiling water to cook. While the pasta is cooking saute the mushrooms. Do it however you like, I like water saute for mushrooms: just add tbsp of water instead of oil and it basically steams the mushrooms. I only like this method with mushrooms, so I tend to do it as much as I can to cut down on added oil calories (especially since the dish already has Earth Balance in it). I’m calorie counting, so that’s what you get. Drain broccoli/pasta once it is done, and return to pot. Add mushrooms and all additional ingredients. Stir. Consume.

Really, that’s all I did. Nothing fancy, but the added lemon juice was awesome. I’m sure someone reading this is thinking: “Jessie, that’s an old recipe” and to that I say: it might be. But I genuinely just made it up one night with what I had in my pantry, and I like it so much that it will happen again.

One last thing. I really suck at pictures of food. Mostly from it being later at night and only having my cellphone by me so this recipe gets none.

Leave a Reply

